State Alumni Convention




2019 State Alumni Convention Group Photo


The 2019-20 Wisconsin FFA Alumni Council was installed at the annual convention in Stevens
Point earlier this month.

Photo courtesy Wisconsin FFA Alumni


More than 300 members attended the Wisconsin FFA Alumni Association’s 39th Annual Convention earlier this month in Stevens Point. Several awards and honors were announced, and attendees participated in an array of activities both on and off site.


Outstanding State Chapter awards were presented to representatives from Weyauwega-Fremont (small division), Waupaca (medium division) and Sauk Prairie (large division).


The Denmark and Stoughton FFA Alumni chapters received gold ratings for National Outstanding Chapter Awards and will have their applications submitted for nationals.


Outstanding Achievement honors were bestowed upon Don and Barb Quam of Stoughton and Mark Olsen of Denmark. Olsen’s application scored gold, advancing him to nationals.


The Greenwood FFA Alumni chapter received the Dr. V.O. Martinson Award for the largest increase in annual membership percentage. Granton earned the Ann Martinson Award for the largest increase in lifetime membership.


The Team Ag Ed Contributor Award went to Joe Loritz of Denmark for his support of FFA, FFA Alumni and agriculture education. Neillsville’s Jordan Donnerbauer, a teacher at Stanley-Boyd, received the Outstanding Agriculture Educator Award. Elkhorn native Emily Watson, a senior at UW-River Falls, received the Outstanding Young Member Award.


Chapter support grants were presented to Baldwin-Woodville, Darlington, Edgerton and Granton. Chapters recognized for reactivation included Brillion, Dodgeland, River Valley and West Salem/Bangor. American Family Insurance was recognized as a newly chartered non-traditional chapter.


The Oconto Falls FFA Alumni chapter was named the state website contest winner, and Denmark won the newsletter competition.


Members of the 2018-19 Wisconsin FFA Officer Team, which played a key role in the operation of the convention, were recognized for being lifetime members of both the state and national FFA Alumni, and the 2017-18 team was honored for being named a 100 percent State Lifetime Team at the national convention last fall.


Retiring council members recognized at the event included Kim Scholz, Brian Buchholz, Larry Lader, Ken Natzke and Dan Follendorf.


The 2019-20 complete council was installed, including:


• Section 1: Dave Clausen, Amery, and Jerry Larsen, Unity.

• Section 2: Brenda Franklin, Baldwin-Woodville, and Caleb Green, Stanley-Boyd.

• Section 3: Derek Trescher and Chris Blank, both from Sparta.

• Section 4: Nick Huffman, Pecatonica, and Jacob Stukenberg, Shullsburg.

• Section 5: Nick Lowe and Jack Ellickson, both from Stoughton.

• Section 6: Matt Damm, Columbus, and Bobbi Jo Kunz, Waupun.

• Section 7: Cindi Freidhof, Colby, and Amy Penterman, Thorp.

• Section 8: Bobbie Jo Montgomery, Waupaca, and Grant Staszak, Bonduel.

• Section 9: Sara Bertram, New Holstein, and Terri Wilfert, Mishicot.

• Section 10: Gene Hetebrueg, Kewaskum, and Amy Voigt, Lakeside Lutheran.

• Vice president Nate Zimdars, Ripon; president-elect Rudy Kaderly, Juda; president Cari Sabel, Chilton; past president Mark Ladsten, Sauk Prairie; and executive director Cheryl Steinbach.





Copyright 2020. Kiel Agricultural Education
Site developed & hosted by Visionality Webs